National Competition Success


The students of Federal College of Education, Obudu have emerged the first runner- up in the National inter-tertiary institution debate competition and public speaking contest which held at the Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife between 12-14 April, 2018. The chairman of the technical team that prepared the students for the competitions, Dr. Samuel Tondo of the English department disclosed this when he presented the award winning team to the provost, Dr. James Bassey Ejue on Monday, 16th April, 2018.

Explaining the status of the competition, the chairman of the technical team informed the gathering that the competition involved all tertiary institutions in the country. He said it must be considered a major feat that the college emerged second in a National competition of that magnitude. Dr. Tondo noted the discipline and confidence that was exhibited by the students and stated that the name of the college has now been confirmed as a major centre of excellence in the country because of the performance of the students.

In his own remarks, the provost first congratulated both the technical team and the award winning students as well as the entire college community for the achievement. Dr. Ejue further poured lavish encomium on the students whom he described as great inspiration to other students. He said that this singular feat has shown that the students can always give a good account of themselves while pointing out that what is important in education is the intellectual capacity of an individual and not necessarily the perception of any school by outsiders. The Chief Executive noted that the students did well at the competition because they listened and adhered to instruction. Finally, he charged the victorious team to go out and conquer the world and refuse to be intimidated by other youths from the so-call institutions with big names.

The president of the Student Union Government of the college, Mr. Godwin Afabe also congratulated the award winning students for making the college proud. He urged the students to be satisfied that they were privileged to represent the college at that level and quickly pointed out that no amount of compensation will actually be commensurate with their performance in the competition.

The award winning students are:
1. Onu Patience Matthew Educational Administration
2. Osedebe Shadrack Chukwuma Guidance/Counselling
3. Matthew Arikpe Ernest English/Political science
4. Samuel Favour Enang Education/English

Back to Top