Profile: The Degree Programmes Unit is headed by a Director. The Current Director is Dr. Nicholas Behatan Akan. (B.A, MA, PGDE, Ph.D ABU). Dr. Akan joined the services of the Federal College of Education Obudu, Cross River State in 1995. He rose through the ranks to the position of a Chief Lecturer in 2012. Within this period, he has held various administrative and academic positions. These includes: Department Examination Officer,1997-2002.

Department Staff Secretary, 1997-2002.

Head of Department,  2002-2006. 

Director, FCE Consult Services Ltd, 2006-2010.

Dean, School of Vocational Education, 2011-2012,

Dean, Student Affairs, 2012-2016.

External Assessor, Academic Publications, COE Katsina-Ala, 2016-2021.

Chairman, Chief Lecturers’ Forum, 2020 till date.

Academic Board Representative, 7th Governing Council, 2021 till date.

Dr. Akan has to his credit many academic publications in national and international journals. He is married with children.


Vision Statement:  To enhance academic and professional excellence in teacher education for sustainable national development.

Mission Statement: To promote learning for service through the production of competent professional teachers for Nigerian Schools.

History: The Federal College of Education, Obudu was established on 30th November, 1982 during the Administration his Excellency, Alhaji Shehu Shagari.  The College commended academic activities on January 7, 1983 offering basically accredited courses leading to the award of Nigerian Certificate in Education (NCE).  The College has two campuses.  Main campus in Obudu L. G. A and Bebi Campus at Obanliku L. G. A.

The College started degree programme upon receipt of approval from the National Universities Commission (NUC) through a letter dated 16th of August, 2011 signed by Prof. L Alhassan Bichi NMIM, on behalf of the Commissioner’s Executive Secretary.  The letter conveyed NUC’s approval of the College’s affiliation arrangements with the University of Calabar to run full time degree programmes in thirteen (13) undergraduate education based courses beginning from 2011/2012 academic session in the following academic programmes:

i.          Education/ Mathematics

ii.         Physical & Health Education

iii         Education/English

iv.        French/Education

v.         Educational Technology

vi         Elementary Education

vii        Educational Administration & Planning

viii       Guidance & Counselling

ix         Adult and Continuing Education

x.         Education Social Studies

xi         Education Christian Religious Studies

xii        Agricultural Science Education

xiii       Business Education


Staff of the Unit: The Unit has both Teaching and Non-teaching staff. The Teaching staff are seconded to the Unit, while the Non- teaching staff are redeployed administratively. Currently the unit has a total number of twenty seven staff.

Administrative Structure of the Unit: The Director oversees and directs the performance of all activities of the Unit. The Deputy Registrar is the administrative head of all non-teaching staff.  For administrative convenience the Unit is categorized into the following sub- units:

  1. Administrative/academic sub-unit    
  2. Exams subunit                       
  3. Bursary subunit                                  
  4. Administrative Subunit (Bebi Campus)                    

Duties performed in each subunit:

1. Administration/ Academic Records sub-unit:  This is headed by an Assistant Deputy Registrar who is supervised by the Deputy Registrar in charge of Degree Unit. This unit is responsible for documentation of all activities related to students’ management, custody of students’ files, and preparation for accreditation. The unit also represents the store house for all academic records of student’s results, certificates delivered from the University of Calabar and processing of final year results for graduation.

2.  Examination sub-unit: This unit is responsible for conduct of examinations, planning of lecture and examination time-table, processing of examination questions after moderation, receiving and confirming marked scripts and results, and so on. 

3 Finance sub-unit:  This sub-unit is headed by a staff deployed from Bursary Unit of the College. The staff iare in charge of confirming and validating all payments made by students. These include school fees, acceptance fees and any other fees/ charges as directed by the College Management/ academic board

File Attachment: